Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

How did you get your training?

Posted by GTR 
GTR
How did you get your training?
January 08, 2012 02:27AM
It seems there's 4 ways of "going pro":

1. Attend a school (RightLook, TotalPros, Detail King, Detailing Success, etc.).
2. Self-taught: trial and error, research online, etc.
3. Work at a car dealership.
4. Work at a detail shop.

Where did the pros here get their training?

Robert Keppel
Owner
Applied Colors
Paint Touch Up Systems for Detailers
Re: How did you get your training?
January 08, 2012 11:11AM
Number 2.

I did a lot of work on friends cars and week-ends at my house. In hindsight, although the best choice I had at the time was to start a detailing business, as a professional I could have done with a lot more training. But none was available in this country at this time. Over the years I have learned a lot. Now when Reps come into my shop selling chemicals, I end up telling them the best way to use their products because they have no clue what is inside the bottle.

But to this day, I still haven't done any formal training. I've been invited to some free training by an international brand who asked me to join their team of approved detailers. I'm thinking about it....
GTR
January 08, 2012 09:45PM
Interesting. 85% of the responses I've received are #2 (self-taught). I posted the poll in 2 other forums:
[www.autopia.org]
[www.autogeekonline.net]

I would have thought at least half of the pros had worked at a dealership or detail shp.
January 08, 2012 10:26PM
Hip, self taught here too. Started out in my dinky uninsulated garage with nothing but a single 60 watt light bulb and a bucket of hot soapy water. That first winter was a rough one and it also made me wonder how the real pros got started too.
January 08, 2012 10:28PM
Hip? Really? Damn you auto correct. 'yup'
January 09, 2012 01:07AM
We always thought there was a better way of doing things..and being out in front of our competitors