Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Mixing Product Lines

Posted by Tom 
Tom
Mixing Product Lines
January 21, 2002 04:18AM
I can't seem to get the same detailing system products. I can either get the wax from Mothers and the polish from Meguiars at our local stores. They either carry one or the other. I have no idea why they don't carry cleaner, polish, and wax to complete the system product line. Oh course the store clerk does'nt know and the owner can't be found.

Anyway, my question is can these products be mixed? They way I have it now is, Meguiars Gold Class Wash Shampoo & Conditioner, Mothers California Gold Pure Carnauba Wax, 3m polish.

I am new at this as you can see. Thanks for all the help and advice.

Tom
Re: Mixing Product Lines
January 21, 2002 05:17AM
I 'mix' products all the time. It's a matter of finding the combination that works best for your application. I use Meguiars polishes, Mothers carwash, and either a synthetic (Finish First) or a carbon based (Liquid Glass) sealant/protectant, and Eagle One Wipe-n-Shine. I end up with show car results.

Not all products will blend because of chemical reactions beween them, I haven't known any to damage the car, but I have seen them cancel each other out, and not last as long as they should.

Don M
'02 Cavalier LSSC
2200 DOHC
January 21, 2002 06:23AM
Also to Tom that some chemical reactions from mixing one product onto another can result in a theory like trying to remove glue off something. This is mainly from using a different product onto another. The main reason usually happens when a very inexpensive product such as a two dollar can of wax is put on a vehicle. Then you come along & put a medium priced bottle of polish over it, the chances of having a hard time of removing the polish aren't in your favor.