Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

E-Type engine feels lumpy!

Posted by andyp 
E-Type engine feels lumpy!
April 11, 2009 05:40PM
Not long got my E-Type (1969 4.2) back from a year in a Body-shop and I finally got to ride the beast earlier today. Aside from a few other minor niggles the main problem I've encountered is the engine being lumpy with erratic tick-over and sounds like it's mis-firing and not running on all cylinders. Before it entered the Body-shop it ran fine. I'm no expert regarding these problems and I was wondering if anybody out there could shed some light as to what I could do to alleviate it.
Re: E-Type engine feels lumpy!
August 31, 2012 06:47PM
DID THEY PAINT IT,HAVE YOU CHECKED THE AIR FILTERS FOR CLOGGING? JUST A THOUGHT LOL! I'M TRYING TO FIND THE DISTRIBUTER FIRING ORDER AND THE CYLINDER NUMBERS FROM FRONT TO BACK FOR A FRIENDS CAR.. I HOPE YOU FIND WHAT IS GOING ON, YOU PROBABLY HAVE YOURS FIXED ALREADY LOL. WAS THERE A WIRE OR HOSE KNOCKED OFF ...
September 01, 2012 01:26PM
I AM WORKING ON A 1972 JAG E TYPE WITH A V-12 MOTOR... GETTING IT RUNNING FOR A FRIEND,REPLACED PLUGS ,CAP, ROTOR.. WHEN HE BOUGHT THE CAR SOME OF THE PLUG WIRES WERE CUT... CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME WITH THE DISRIBUTOR CAP FIRING ORDER AND THE ORDER OF CYLINDERS FRONT TO BACK ON THIS BABY/ AND WE PUT A NEW BATTERY IN IT, AND THE ALTERNATOR STARTED SMOKING , I PULLED THE CABLE RIGHT BACK OFF,AND OF COURSE I HOOKED THE CABLES UP RIGHT LOL, UNLESS THIS IS A POSITIVE GROUND SYSTEM... THE ONE THAT APPEARS TO BE THE GROUND CABLE IS ATTACHED TO THE FIREWALL,IS THAT A SUFFICIENT GROUND,BECAUSE THERE IS ANOTHER CABLE THAT IS UNHOOKED,NOT SURE IF IT GOES TO THE SOLENOID OR IF ITS IS A GROUND, I HAVE TO PUT IT ON THE LIFT AND FOLLOW IT... THANK YOU SO MUCH, ANYBODY PLEASE..
January 03, 2013 05:46PM
Re: E-Type engine feels lumpy