Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

introduction

Posted by turboman 
introduction
December 24, 2001 03:24PM
Greetings as I'm new here. I have been detailing as a hobby for a few years. However recently I decided to work part-time in a shop to learn the use of products and materials. Since I do this for the passion and the love of the work, not the money, I can do things a little different. I have about 25 customers with high end luxury cars that want me to work on their cars exclusively. But I still have much to learn. I have many questions but I won't rattle them all off at once. So here is one. I'm somewhat confused by the term rotary buffers and polishers. I have been taught during the polishing process to use the high speed polisher to remove the polish while still wet on the car. Working in small sections at a time. That seems to work fine. For the final waxing process I was told we have two options / on and off by hand.....or...apply with rotary buffer/terri clothe pad, then remove by hand....Now I know I could (and will) get into the different types of products around (see my post on waxes and polishes) can someone tell me about how to "remove" wax with an orbital,(or why you would want to) and can you get the same results as by hand? Thanks turbomangt

Re: introduction
December 24, 2001 06:57PM
Welcome to the forum turboman. The term rotary does refer to the term high speed polisher & also buffer/polisher. Rotary polishers are fine to remove the most stubborn scrathes however a lot of people in the industry use them for the wrong reasons or use the wrong product for this purpose.

Rotarys are a very good tool as long as you let them do the work & you don't try fighting with them. You can use the foam pads along with using the wool pads. Caution is to be used while using any wool pads due to the high heat buildup that can occur.