Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Auto detail business start-up advice wanted

Posted by Matt Tognarelli 
<HTML>I am looking into starting my own auto detail business on the East coast and ran across this website while doing research. I studied previous postings and figured I would give it a shot for myself.

For the past four years I have been helping a buddy start a landscaping business, and it has worked out well for him but not me. Needless to say, I am not afraid of hard work, but my passion has been in auto detailing since I was young. I started doing detail work as a lot lizard for a local dealership during high school, and since then I have done it on the side for years. I am at a crossroads in life and I can go work for the man in corporate America or I can work for myself doing something I enjoy.

I am leaning toward working for myself doing detailing. The questions and fears are endless, but I have the confidence that I can overcome all of them.

My past experience has given me a good starting base, but I know there is a lot I need to learn before I can consider myself a pro. which is what I aspire to become. I have looked into some of the classes offered out there, but am interested what you current pros suggest. I have considered going to one of the sessions detail king offers, but is it worth the cost? I also saw the car care world expo, but by that time I hope to have the business up and running.

Should I go with a mobile business or a brick and mortar business? The cost of brick and mortar where I am considering starting my business is extremely high, so I am leaning toward the mobile side.

What is a reasonable cost to expect when starting up a new detail business? Can I make enough to survive on it? I realize I am going to have to bust my balls trying to get this thing started, but I am actually looking forward to it.

I have many more questions, but I will leave it at this for now.