Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Buffer

Posted by Jason McClure 
Buffer
March 11, 2005 03:07AM
<HTML>Hi,

I've been detailing my own car for several years and have done work for friends and family. I'd like to start doing it as a profession. What is the best buffer on the market? How do I learn to use it properly? What other "tools" will I need and are recommended?

Thanks for your help!

Jason</HTML>
Re: Buffer
March 11, 2005 04:39AM
<HTML>Best is a big word around here...in many cases its preference and your comfort and skill level. Many guys love Cyclo, while others go Porter Cable DA and then into the high speed machines.

Within our locations we use a combo of the Porter Cable and the Makita high speeds. We use Cylco for Aluminum polishing only. With the right pad/product combo, we can get paint looking flawless with the Porter Cable. For paint issues we then use the Makita. Again...preferance plays a huge roll but I will say this that I simply have little use for the Cyclo on paint...our techs turn out far better work with the Porter Cable. This should at least make you even more confused...

As for gaining skill...go to work for a shop or attend training. One the job training for detailers within a new business start-up is a risky way to enter a business and your odds of building a successful business are greatly reduced taking that avenue...that is why the turn over is so great within this industry I feel...so many detailers...so few business people.

Good luck with your venture!</HTML>

Renny Doyle
Attention To Details
Aircraft &amp; Auto Detailing
www.detailingsuccess.com
Proud Detailers of Air Force One!
PDTA Member
Re: Buffer
March 11, 2005 01:50PM
<HTML>Jason, Renny is right about which one, is a preference.