Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Detailing Steps and Product Assistance

Posted by LifeIsInTheDetails 
Detailing Steps and Product Assistance
July 28, 2010 12:21AM
I'm not a detailing professional, just a newbie amateur trying to understand enough to maintain my own vehicles. I’ve got an older car to practice on, but wanted to get the opinion of you pros before I get too deep into this.

Here are the products I’ve managed to acquire over the past year or so:

Wolfgang Auto Bathe

Turtle Wax rubbing compound
Turtle Wax polishing compound
3M 2000 grit wet/dry sandpaper

Meguiar’s Scratch X2.0
Pinnacle Advanced Swirl Remover
Pinnacle Advanced Finishing Polish
Pinnacle Liquid Souveran Wax
Pinnacle Crystal Mist Carnauba Detail Spray

XMT Polishing Pad Conditioner

And a Flex 3401 D-A Polisher

I know, an impressive array of products given I don’t know what I’m doing. smiling smiley

So, I imagine this process:

1. Wash vehicle with Dawn (if I want to remove existing wax), or the Wolfgang Auto Bathe (if I don’t).

2. To remove scratches, apply either the Meguiar’s Scratch X2.0 or the Pinnacle Advanced Swirl Remover.

3. Then, to polish out the dullness I’ve induced with the above, I follow with the Pinnacle Advanced Finishing Polish, using the pad conditioner on the pad first.

4. End with the Pinnacle Liquid Souveran Wax, then the Crystal Mist?

If the Scratch X2.0 or the Advanced Swirl Remover doesn’t work to get rid of the scratches, move first to the TW polishing compound, then if that doesn’t work, the rubbing compound. Followed by the sandpaper if the above steps don’t work?

Does this look like the right order of things? Are the Scratch X2.0 and the Pinnacle Advanced Swirl Remover interchangeable?