Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Re: Why are so many Detailing Businesses Failing or having difficulty

Posted by billd55 
March 18, 2011 01:31PM
One reason why businesses are failing is the economy, but not the main reason.
It was said earlier that:Like Ron and Bud stated above, we need to adapt to changing times with a new marketing strategy.I am really confused by that statement.What is the new thing you plan to offer that requires marketing?

I have a degree in Marketing so I think I am qualified to speak on this subject.
Marketing consists of four things; 1- Product 2- Price 3-Promotion 4-Place.
The product is basically the same( correction and waxing). The price can vary,but usually it goes down because detailers struggle to get and keep customers. The promotion is expensive and time consuming.The place is a fixed location or a mobile operation.

Everyone in this business thinks there is a magical new to strategy to become
successful in the detailing business. Some think it requires an expensive machine to clean fabric and carpets.Others think a great location or a mobile operation,or a cheap price along with expensive advertising.Although,there is nothing about these ideas that are new or different.

How about changing the product? It really goes back to the article I posted about
the female detailer who asked on another forum if there was a wax that would not
streak when applied over a teflon sealant.WHAT I AM SAYING IS THIS:YOU ALL TALK
ABOUT STAYING UP WITH THE CHANGING TIMES, BUT YOU CONTINUE TO USE PRODUCTS AND
METHODS THAT ARE OUTDATED.

In TOWGT's article I posted he states this:in the final analysis it all comes down to; 85% preparation, 5% product, 7% application . This may be true for the existing products used by most of you. Although for me the product is everything.
Sure prep and application are also important.