Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

advertising

Posted by turboman 
advertising
January 10, 2002 05:10PM
I wanted to throw this out to you all of you. I am new here, and I ask many stupid questions, I also notice a little competitive spirit amoung the professionals on this board. I will be the first to say that my knowledge is limited in this businuss. That does not stop me for pursuing this hobby/passion of detailing. Many of you already have helped me a great deal, and I will continue to seek help on my road in this field. I wanted to know how some of you advertise (without spending lots of cash) for your services? My situation is this. I work about 30 hours a week as a commodity broker, I cut back my hours to spend more time detailing. I work part time at a car wash/detail center near my home and I have acquired many repeat customers because of my work. I take pride in what I do, and know my limitations. I have earned the respect of many owners, one of which is letting me do a 41 ford and a vintage rolls this spring. I will admitt, before I attempt these cars you will see many questions from me later on. I have printed an advertsing sheet for my services and have dropped them off at business/homes, but the response has not been what I thought. Any suggestions on how to get the word out beyond getting customers through the shop? thanks guys.....the turboman

Dan
Re: advertising
January 10, 2002 05:36PM
The key to this business, seriously, is word of mouth. My first year was HARD, I had to go out and talk to people that I dont know everyday and try to act professional to someone new every 5 minutes. Dropping flyers doesnt really help much, you have to talk face to face with them, unless can afford a yellow pages add.