Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Anybody charge by the day?

Posted by Profile Detailer 
Anybody charge by the day?
July 12, 2011 09:43PM
Hi guys,

Just wondering if anybody charges by the day - rather than by simple detailing packages, etc.

I've been doing it for a few months and its been going alright. It depends on the car and condition, but I get a complete interior done and then a single stage RO Machine Polishing of the exterior. I get good feedback because its a high quality service.

I am basically selling my time rather than selling a detail package. I got fed up trying to do two cars a day, and finding that one or the other (or both!) is in pig-sty condition and impacts the work time of the next car (or I end up working late).

At least this way, I work with the customer and focus on the area of the car that needs most attention. Eg, if its a dirty interior I spend 2/3rds of my day on that making it new (if it needs all that time) then I spend the rest on the exterior. Vice versa as well. Some people just want paint polishing only.

It takes a lot of the pressure off me for the day and I don't end up with a 5 hour job some days and nothing to do for the rest of the day.
Re: Anybody charge by the day?
July 13, 2011 12:30AM
As most of our cars are dealer cars, we usually just have a set price. For cars that need extra attention we try to upsell the needs on a per vehicle basis. For example, if we normally charge $85.00 to do a full interior, a very dirty car would get a double charge. For exteriors we would normally charge $15.00 but double that for a very muddy one. From there is where we upsell more work, so far its averaged out to about $25.00/hr. So I giess in a way we too are charging by the day as we can rarely do one in less than a day.
July 14, 2011 03:17PM
Makes sense, Bob.