Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

gto clone

Posted by Andy VanderMeulen 
gto clone
May 31, 2003 05:39AM
how do i convert a 70-73 lemans to a GTO, what do i need other than the badges, i was told a hood and front end (grill) but im not exactly sure, im new to this whole pontiac thing, up until this point i was a big charger fan...
Re: gto clone
June 01, 2003 04:12AM
okay, i may get ahold of a 1970 lemans, 80% chance if all goes well, id like to convert it into a GTO Judge clone, but first i need to know, whats the difference between my lemans and a gto... someones gotta know
June 02, 2003 04:44AM
You will have to change the whole front clip. And a nice 70 GTO front clip is not easy to come by these days. The nose, hood, and fenders are all different. I think the door panels are not the same as well. You will have to add the Ram Air, which is exspensive. You will have to add the rear spoiler, and modify the deck lid to hold it up. As it is it will not. That is the bulk of the body stuff. But keep in mind that offten times you will have more in the car than it will ever be worth. Because at the end it is still a LeMans. If I were going to clone a car, I would clone a real GTO into a Judge. Atleast that way it is still worth what a nice GTO is worth, as opposed to a nice LeMans. But that is just my way of thinking. But then again I dont care for clones at all. Got taken to the cleaners on one. PHS all the way from now on!

70 Judge in the works!
June 10, 2003 07:15PM
why dont you just save your money and buy a real gto ,,,,So more dumb people out there can bye it thinking its a real gto come on save your money and get a real one for one its worth more even if you have to restore it come and youll spend the least amount of money its not cheap to convert thing over its alomst cheaper to by a real 242 gto and restore and guess what youll be able to sell it if you want for top dollar theres anothe clones all ready so do us all justice and get a real GTO