Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

I'm not a pro, BUT....

Posted by robert norton 
I'm not a pro, BUT....
May 04, 2005 12:07AM
<HTML>I am not a professional detailer, just a car nut that loves a really clean (not just looks clean) car. I have fallen for a few myths in my day, but I think that overall, I am fairly knowledgable about keeping my cars clean. I do know the difference between a polish and a wax, and I know when to use each.
What is your opinion of Stoner's products? I use their "Invisible glass" and their "Trim Shine". I like both. I also use "Top of the Line" Trade Secret wax. But then again, I also liked Pledge as a touch-up product. Any words of wisdom from the pros?
PS....I stopped using the Pledge after your answers made sense. I washed the car with Dawn to strip it down, gave it a good rinse and started over.
Thanks,
Bob</HTML>
Re: I'm not a pro, BUT....
May 05, 2005 01:47PM
<HTML>I can vouge that Stoner makes amazing products that do work (Invisible Glass, Tarminator and Trim Shine are my favs.)

I've heard good things about Top of the Line but have not used thier products.

I use Pledge in my own vehicle's interior as a cleaner & dressing. Thats my tip but can be expensive to use it in large volume shops.</HTML>

Take care,

Brian
Precision Auto & Marine

Learn to detail boats! Visit www.detailtheboat.com
May 06, 2005 02:40PM
<HTML>Thanks for the info.
Bob</HTML>
May 07, 2005 02:28AM
<HTML>I'd would stick to a water based dressing preferably that claims some kind of UV protection for the interior. For high volume use assess which say this and select the most economical. I think AA is roughly $20 a gallon or so.</HTML>

May 07, 2005 02:50AM
<HTML>Hey, all,

The ability for a "water based" or "hydrocarbon" based dressing to have "real UV" blockers in it, is not really possible, chemically.

What the "UV" protection that is provided, is really the "reflective" value of the gloss provided.

Ever go out an buy true "UV" protective additives?