Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Training

Posted by Adam Hatela 
Training
November 06, 2003 08:08PM
<HTML>I am not only new to this website, I am new to this buisness. A matter of fact I have not invested any money into the buisness. Just some time involving reseach. I want to "Have my ducks in a row" before diving head first.

My first, of many, questions I have for you is regarding training. I have some experiance in detailing my personal cars, would I benefit from enrolling into a detail training course of some type? Or is it practical for one to self-teach themselves through reading detail books and researching through the net.</HTML>
Re: Training
November 06, 2003 08:55PM
<HTML>Adam:

Welcome to the forum and welcome to this luctarive industry!

While attending training classes would be optimum for you in developing skills required to properly use a buffer, extractor, ozone machine and any other crucial piece of equipment...it is not mandatory. There are classes and seminars that can be attended but do not offer any "certified status" such as an ASE for a mechanic. Although there should be. If you have the time and money for a training course, Righlook.com, Automotive International (autoint.com) PaintBull.com and DetailKing.com offer hand on training. They are the only ones I know of that offer training.

Since you do your own vehicle you already have a taste of what detailing entails. There are several websites that offer Training Tapes and Manuals for you to try and also test the techniques on your own vehicle or abandoned cars at a junk yard. I don't think the junk yard foreman will mind if you burn through the paint with your buffer on a 1982 Chevy Caprice.