Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

High-Speed Buffers

Posted by Kenneth E 
High-Speed Buffers
June 02, 2004 02:23AM
<HTML>I'm working on putting together my equipment to start detailing in the evenings and weekends. My budget is very limited, I'm currently using a wet/dry vac and a scrub brush to extract soil from carpets. I'm a detailer by trade but working for someone else, I can't seem to get ahead financialy. Anyway I've always used a DeWalt Variable speed buffer(1000-3000rpm), which I'd love to own, but after pricing several different places, I can seem to find anything under $180. Anyway my question is if it's possible to alter one of those variable-speed hand held grinders with the sheild to catch sparks, into a buffer???? They are much more affordable for some reason and look extremely similar to the model I use.

Also, at the shop where I work, the owner of the company has me using the carpet extracting fluid in the heated compartment of the shampooer. I pretreat the carpets with a foam cleaner, then scub the heavily soiled areas with a brush, then run the shampooer over it, using amore concentrated exractor in a spray bottle for the really bad parts. That dosent seem right to to me because I'm leaving all that residue from the solvents in the finised carpets. Can this be harmfull? If you guys have any suggestions on a better process I could use with the supplies I have, I would really appreciate your input!!!</HTML>
Re: High-Speed Buffers
June 02, 2004 02:34AM
<HTML>Ken, try looking on e-bay ..

[search.ebay.com]

Jim.</HTML>
June 02, 2004 02:57AM
<HTML>If you are only using a shop vac to extract carpets and fabric then you will be leaving soap residue in the fabric too. You need to have an extractor to do the job properly if you want to do a professional job.</HTML>

June 02, 2004 06:11AM
<HTML>Ken,