Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Novice Questions

Posted by JustinMat 
Novice Questions
November 02, 2004 08:49PM
<HTML>Afternoon folks,

First and foremost, let me explain that I am by no means a professional. I am simply someone that aspires to detail a car (my car) well. My list of products and experience is very limited but I do try very hard and any advice would be so appreciated. Here are my questions:

1. Turtle Wax The Brand - Yay or Nay?
2. Armor All for tire dressing and dash/leather - Yay or nay?
3. How often should you condition your leather?
4. How long should it really take to wax a mid-size car? I drive an 04 Accord.
5. Why not wax before polish? Shouldnt a wash be sufficient and is it recommended to always polish before a wax?
6. I don't understand the concept of "claying". Is it to fill scrapes, act as a polish?</HTML>

V/R
Justin.
Re: Novice Questions
November 03, 2004 12:37AM
<HTML>Hello Justin,

I will do my best to answer what I can, and I am sure others shall also chime in.

1) Turtle Wax is OK. The more important issue is "What are you doing to PREP your cars finish?" On a properly prepped car just about any car wax will make it sparkle and shine. I recommend you get a clay bar to remove any contaminants imbedded in your paint, also look for a paint cleaner/polish. The shelves are full of them and going over them is more in-depth than I can post at this moment.

2) AA is a great tire dressing, one of the better dressings you can purchase at a store. Personally I would not use it on my interior. On my clients cars I use a very low sheen dressing which does not colect or attract dust. AA leaves to glossy of a finish and attracts alot of dust.