Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Teflon coated wheels.

Posted by John Sharp 
Teflon coated wheels.
May 24, 2005 01:09AM
<HTML> Hey everybody, I have a guy who called me asking me if I had any experience with teflon coated wheels. While I have seen some custom wheels in stores selling wheels with teflon coatings, we havent had a car with these wheels come into the shop yet.

Do any of you know of special methods needed to clean a teflon coated wheel? Do the teflon coated wheels really help brake dust from sticking to the wheels? Does the coating really hold up and last for the life of the wheel? Any comments are appreciated.

Thanks,
John Sharp</HTML>
Re: Teflon coated wheels.
May 24, 2005 02:04AM
<HTML>Teflon® is a synthetic polymer formula (PTFE) produced by Dupont Chemicals and requires a temperature of 680°F for it to sinter or bond to a surface. I haven’t heard of wheel mfg using Teflon on their wheel surfaces, but then I’m just a dumb Architect and lead a very sheltered life so it may be possible.
I have heard many claims by car care products that claim to contain Teflon.

This is a quote from DuPont chemicals about their product and car care products- “The addition of a Teflon® fluoropolymer paint does nothing to enhance the properties of any car wax, we have no data that indicates the use of Teflon® to be beneficial in car waxes. “</HTML>

[ each one / teach one, then student /becomes teacher ]
Re: Teflon coated wheels.
May 24, 2005 02:12AM
<HTML>Actually, there are several, well known, aftermarket wheel companies using a flurotelamer resin in their acrylic/powdercoat applied to wheels.

Had several discussions regarding this with some of the companies at SEMA in Nov. as am working on a technical article regarding the various wheel coatings, types of new chromes, etc.

The question will be asked, "what do I clean them with?"