Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Carpet Extractors

Posted by ebranden 
Carpet Extractors
June 28, 2008 11:47PM
Who has the best carpet extractors,and why?
Re: Carpet Extractors
June 29, 2008 07:06AM
The Ninja has been praised probably more than any other on forums but I have no experience with it.
Daimer has a big name .
Bud carries a lot of extractors on his Detail Plus site ...
There is a lot of discussion of extractors on the Mobileworks forums .
Hope that is a start.
Doug
June 29, 2008 10:31PM
Doug, thank you for the recommendation on our line of extractors.

Ebranden:

There are several considerations when purchasing an extractor:

a. Budget - what can you afford? You may want to drive a Mercedes, but only have the money to afford a VW.

b. Tank Size - they come in 2 gallons to 13 gallons. What you want is a unit that is big enough so you do not have to fill several times during the day. For example, if a mobile detailer is doing one car per stop then our Tuffy Jr would work, 2 gallons. But if you were doing 4 cars in one stop then you might want th PYTHON which is 6 gallons.

c. Vacuum Motor - people talk about lift or suction, but what you are talking about is really the size of the vacuum motor. Most units have either a 2 stage motor (2 impellors) or 3 stage motor (3 impellors). The 3 is best, that is, will give you more "lift" or "suction." But the 2 stage is not all that bad, kind of like a V6 vs V8. Both got a lot of pep, but the 8 has more.
Don't be fooled by the 2 - 2 stage motor units. This does not help the detailer. Dual motor units are for residential carpet cleaners that might have to put say a 40' hose on a unit to get upstairs in a house. The longer hose you use the less lift you have, so with dual motors you are able to maintain the same lift.