Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Getting Started on a lower budget...

Posted by Tirwander 
Getting Started on a lower budget...
April 27, 2009 12:56AM
Hello! I am, like many of us, struggling to get by these days with my normal job... I work as a cook at night and it isn't cutting it. I am 19 and wanted to start detailing on the side. I think I would enjoy it and know I would do a good job. Problem is I cannot afford to start with ALL the things you guys recommend in your lists. They are awesome lists and really helpful though. So thank you, first off, for doing that for all of us new guys! Can some of you maybe help me to figure out what would be a good starting place for a young new-comer? I know I will have to start with a more basic "detailing" and then work my way up as I can afford more products and eventually (i hope) a work space other than my driveway... haha I would so greatly appreciate any help. Thanks so much!!

-Brian
Re: Getting Started on a lower budget...
April 28, 2009 01:02AM
Brian-
I know you won't like this answer, but the best course of action for you would be to get a job in detailing first. That will give you time to learn and save money toward doing it right on your own.

Another possibility is finding a mobile detailer who would let you operate his business for a share in the profits. He could go do something else while you sweat and bring in the money.

Perhaps you can get a car wash to let you do express wax jobs on their property.

If you can find an auto repair shop or body shop that would let you use a bay for weekend detailing, while they are closed, you'll be able to operate in all weather.

Most people don't like to work hard. If you'll do the hard work, I bet somebody will strike a deal with you.

Doug
April 28, 2009 03:02AM