Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Brand New Car - Hairline Scratches

Posted by John Johnstone 
Brand New Car - Hairline Scratches
September 12, 2003 01:12AM
<HTML>I just got a new black car 2 months ago. I'm a newbie to auto detail. With my washing and waxing (using "100 cotton towels" that really were not) i made a ton of hairline scratches on my paint. And since my car is black it looks terrible!!

I need your expert advice. I want to get rid of them or fill them in. what product should i use? i want to do this by hand, i have no skill with any machines. should i use scratchX?
or 3M remover? or a glaze to fill in the scratches?</HTML>
Re: Brand New Car - Hairline Scratches
September 12, 2003 01:24AM
<HTML>by the way the scratches are very thin. they only can be seen in certain kind of light (direct sunlight/floresent) and when you go about 2-3 feet close.

i'm afraid of destroying my clearcoat too, since its a new car.

I don't mind filling them in, which will preserve my clearcoat?

or do i buff them out, but that will get rid of my clearcoat too?</HTML>
September 12, 2003 09:39PM
<HTML>help please!!</HTML>
<HTML>John..clearcoat is actually very durable under normal use, and it is on average about 1.0 to 1.5 mm thick.

Black is almost impossible to keep permanently scratch free , just driving down the road will probably put a scratch in it sometimes.

To be honest, if you fill them in, your just going to be throwing money at it , as they will still be there when the filler wears off and you'll be back to where you started,and I have never used a product by hand to remove scratches by hand so I cant tell you how effective that will be. So actually invest your money in having it taken care of by a pro , rather than waxing it over and over again.

My suggestion would be to simply find a good detailer in your area and have it lightly buffed to remove the scratches and then apply a good sealant to the paint to help reduce any further scratching.