Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

more power

Posted by patrick hines 
more power
October 07, 2003 10:47PM
Thank you all for responding to my questions. I think I'm set on the 68 gto with hide-away lights. That car just looks scary coming down the street! My question now is this: If I have a 400 motor (with which I believe came with 350 hp standard), what can be done to beef it up to around 425 hp? Keep in mind I am by no means a mechanic, but I have tinkered around with engines before.(heads, carbs, manifolds, cams, etc.) I want something that can be driven on the street, but that can also take charge when the punk in his little tricked out Honda civic with glowing wheels and a muffler that sounds like a bee hive pulls up next to me. Also, is it possible to have a motor with 425 hp that can run on 93 octane? What kind of costs am I looking at, and do I have to be an "expert" to do some of this myself? One last question: Did any Pontiac motors, especially in GTOs ever come from the factory with headers? If not, why not?
Re: more power
October 08, 2003 05:43PM
I worked at the pontiac plant from 1965 to 1997. When the GTO's were coming down the line I only saw 1, 69 GTO and 1, 69 Grand Prix with factory headers. Those two cars were special orders bound for Saudi Arabia.
October 08, 2003 06:02PM
Why do you think that they never produced gtos off the assembly lines with headers? I remember putting headers on my 68 firebird 350, and those cast iron exhaust manifolds were very heavy and very narrow inside. How much more horsepower do you think a set of headers would add to a 400 cu 350 hp engine?
October 08, 2003 08:49PM