Pebble Beach Masthead
Pebble Beach Best of Show banner

Past Best of Show winners

  • For the first five years, the Best of Show went to essentially new cars. That trend was reversed in 1955 when Phil Hill's 1931 Pierce Arrow won.
  • The marque with the most wins is Bugatti, with nine. This fact reflects the opinion of many classic car afficionados, which is that the Bugatti is the premier classic.
  • Duesenberg has won seven times, Mercedes six times and Rolls-Royce has won five times.
  • JB Nethercutt is the owner with the most wins, a total of six. This includes two consecutive wins in 1958 / 1959 and 1969 / 1970. Only William Harrah has also scored consecutive wins - in 1963 / 1964. The Nethercutt Collection, located in Sylmar California, is open to the public and is a must-see for car enthusiasts.
  • Something amazing happened in 2014: a 1954 Ferrari 375 MM Scaglietti Coupe won Best of Show. This marks the first time a Ferrari has won and, since 1955, only the second time a postwar car was chosen.
Year Owner(s) Car
1950 Sterling Edwards 1950 Edwards R-26 Special Sport Roadster
1951 Mrs. Charles H. Hornberg Jr. 1951 Jaguar Mark VII Saloon
1952 Glen Sorey 1952 Jaguar XK120 Fixed Head Coupe
1953 Peter Clowes 1953 Austin Healey 100
1954 Barclay Cotter 1952 Jaguar XK120 Fixed Head Coupe
1955 Phil Hill 1931 Pierce-Arrow 41 LeBaron Convertible Town Cabriolet
1956 Dr. Milton R. Roth 1930 Bugatti Type 37 Grand Prix
1957 Frank B. Cox 1937 Rolls-Royce Phantom III Mulliner Sedanca de Ville
1958 JB Nethercutt 1930 duPont Model G Merrimac Town Car
1959 JB Nethercutt 1939 Bugatti Type 57C Atalante
1960 Cancelled, poor weather
1961 Scott Newhall 1930 Packard 740 Roadster
1962 Alton H. Walker 1913 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost Tourer Coachwork on London to Edinburgh Chassis
1963 William Harrah 1931 Pierce-Arrow 41 LeBaron Sport Sedan
1964 William Harrah 1935 Bugatti Type 50 Coupe Profile
1965 Christopher F. Coburn 1927 Bentley 4-1/2 Litre Vanden Plas Tourer
1966 William Harrah 1931 Bugatti Type 41 Coupe de Ville
1967 Ralph C. Shermund 1937 Rolls-Royce Phantom III H.J. Mulliner Sports Saloon
1968 Stanley W. Good, Jr. 1964 Maserati Mistral Coupe
1969 JB Nethercutt 1934 Duesenberg J Murphy Dual Cowl Phaeton
1970 JB Nethercutt 1931 Daimler Royal Double 6 Limousine
1971 Owen Owens 1927 Mercedes-Benz 8 Three Door Tourer
1972 Mr. And Mrs. Jules M. Heumann 1922 Hispano-Suiza H6B Labourdette Skiff/Torpedo
1973 Mrs. Otis (Marilyn) Chandler 1939 Mercedes-Benz 540K Special Cabriolet
1974 M.L. Post 1929 Rolls-Royce Phantom I Brewster Regent
1975 Robert Milhous 1934 Packard 1101 Convertible Victoria
1976 William Harrah 1937 Bugatti Type 57SC Atalante
1977 Mr. And Mrs. Phil Hill 1927 Packard 343 Murphy Convertible Sedan
1978 Peter Rosi 1929 Duesenberg J LeBaron Dual Cowl Phaeton
1979 Mr. And Mrs. Gerry Jensen 1931 Chrysler CG LeBaron Dual Cowl Phaeton
1980 JB Nethercutt 1933 Duesenberg SJ Rollston Arlington Torpedo Sedan
1981 Terry Radey 1929 Duesenberg J Murphy Convertible Coupe
1982 Tom & Gerd Perkins 1935 Mercedes-Benz 500K Special Roadster
1983 Irwin Ginsberg, MD 1930 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8A SS Castagna Dual Cowl Phaeton
1984 Mr. And Mrs. Kenneth Vaughn 1929 Cunningham V5410 All Weather Cabriolet
1985 Jack Becronis 1939 Bugatti Type 57 Saoutchik Cabriolet
1986 Arthuro Keller 1936 Mercedes-Benz 500K Special Roadster
1987 Thomas Lester 1928 Minerva AF Ostruk Berline Transformable
1988 Mr. And Mrs. John Mozart 1937 Alfa Romeo 8C 2900B Touring Spyder
1989 Robert L. Meyer 1922 Hispano-Suiza H6B Labourdette Skiff
1990 Ralph Lauren 1938 Bugatti Type 57SC Atlantic
1991 Sam & Emily Mann 1932 Chrysler CH LeBaron Speedster
1992 JB Nethercutt 1929 Rolls-Royce Phantom II Brewster Town Brougham
1993 Ralph Lauren 1930 Mercedes-Benz SSK Count Trossi Sports 2-Seater
1994 Terence and Mary Beth Adderley 1933 Duesenberg J Rollston Torpedo Convertible Victoria
1995 W.K. Haines 1931 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8B Viggo Jensen Cabriolet d'Orsay
1996 Sam and Emily Mann 1938 Delage D8-120 De Villars Cabriolet
1997 William E. Connors II 1937 Talbot-Lago T150C Figoni et Falaschi Coupe
1998 John Mozart 1938 Bugatti Type 57SC Corsica Roadster
1999 G. Lindenbrink and Charles Bronson 1932 Daimler Double Six Martin Walter Sport Saloon
2000 Jacques and Betty Harguindeguy 1937 Delahaye 146 M Figoni et Falaschi Cabriolet
2001 Arturo and Deborah Keller 1930 Mercedes-Benz SS Erdmann & Rossi Roadster
2002 Sam and Emily Mann 1934 Voisin C-15 ETS Saliot Roadster
2003 Peter D. Williamson 1936 Bugatti Type 57SC Atlantic
2004 Joseph C. Cassini III 1938 Horch 853A Erdmann & Rossi Sport Cabriolet
2005 Sam and Emily Mann 1937 Delage D8-120 S Pourtout Aero Coupe
2006 Bob Lee 1931 Daimler Double Six Corsica Drophead Coupe
2007 Harry Yeaggy 1935 Duesenberg SJ Special
2008 Jon & Mary Shirley 1938 Alfa Romeo 8C 2900B Touring Berlinetta
2009 Robert M. Lee , Sparks, Nevada 1937 Horch 853 Voll & Ruhrbeck Sport Cabriolet
2010 The Patterson Collection, Louisville, Kentucky 1933 Delage D8S De Villars Roadster
2011 Peter and Merle Mullin, Los Angeles CA 1934 Voisin C-25 Aerodyne
2012 Paul and Judy Andrews of White Settlement, Texas 1928 Mercedes-Benz 680S Saoutchik Torpedo
2013 Joseph & Margie Cassini III, West Orange, New Jersey 1934 Packard 1108 Twelve Dietrich Convertible Victoria
2014 Jon Shirley, Medina, Washington 1954 Ferrari 375 MM Scaglietti Coupe
2015 Jim Patterson / The Patterson Collection 1924 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8A F. Ramseier & Cie Warblaufen Cabriolet
2016 Richard Mattei, Paradise Valley, Arizona 1936 Lancia Astura Pinin Farina Cabriolet
2017 Bruce R. McCaw, Bellevue, Washington 1929 Mercedes-Benz S Barker Tourer
2018 David Sydorick of Beverly Hills, California 1937 Touring-Bodied Alfa Romeo 8C 2900B
2019 The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie 1931 Bentley 8 Litre Gurney Nutting Sports Tourer
2020 Canceled due to Covid Concerns
2021 The Keller Collection at The Pyramids, Petaluma, California 1938 Mercedes-Benz 540K Autobahn Kurier
2022 Lee R. Anderson Sr. 1932 Duesenberg J Figoni Sports Torpedo

Note: Clicking on an image with this symbol (Boxes) will lead to a larger image.

Tell us!!!
To WebCars! Home